• Periodic Table

    May 20, 2015

    The Department of Chemistry is currently searching for a Supply Chain Associate.  Please refer to the Jobs@UIowa webpage, and search for requisition number 66544. The Department of Chemistry is...
  • Dr. Johna Leddy

    May 12, 2015

    The Electrochemical Society's most recent podcast features Dr. Johna Leddy, addressing questions on her career and magnetically-modified power sources.  You can find it on their blog
  • Dr. Elizabeth Stone

    May 08, 2015

    The Office of the Vice President for Research and Economic Development held its Celebrating Excellence: Discovery and Innovation Awards Ceremony on Tuesday, April 28. The annual event recognizes faculty, staff, postdoctoral scholars/fellows, graduate students, undergraduate students and mentors who...
  • Zahid Islam

    May 07, 2015

    Graduate student Zahidul Islam has been invted to give an oral presentation of his work entitled “Mechanistic Investigation of the Proton Abstraction in the Thymidylate Synthase-Catalyzed Reaction" at the 2015 Gordon Research Seminar (GRS) on Enzymes, Coenzymes, & Metabolic pathways...
  • Dr. Tori Forbes

    May 05, 2015

    Tori Forbes, an Assistant Professor of Chemistry is one of 44 scientists—just 27 of them from U.S. universities—selected for a U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science 2015 Early Career Research Program award. With the award,...
  • Dr. Claudio Margulis

    May 05, 2015

    Claudio J. Margulis was promoted to the rank of professor. Prior to joining the faculty at Iowa in 2003, Prof. Margulis received his Licenciado en Ciencias Químicas degree from the University of Buenos Aires in Argentina where he did research on the statistical mechanics of ions in steam. He...
  • EASPI Award Winners

    Apr 27, 2015

    Mr. Anthony Lucio and Ms. Courtney Stanford, graduate students in the Department of Chemistry at the University of Iowa, were recently awarded NSF-EAPSI Fellowships to conduct research during the summer of 2015. The EAPSI competition, aimed at allowing doctoral candidates to spend a summer working...
  • Sharon Receives award

    Apr 19, 2015

    Sharon Robertson, a Clerk IV in the administrative office at the Department of Chemistry, was recently awarded the Mary Louise Kelley Staff Excellence award by the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.  The Mary Louise Kelley Staff Excellence Awards are given annually to recognize staff...
  • UI Chemistry graduate student Qi Guo

    Apr 14, 2015

    Three Chemistry graduate students were recently recognized for their accomplishments at the American Society Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB) Annual Meeting, held in Boston, MA, March 28-April 1, 2015. Qi Guo (pictured), a...
  • Professor Chris Cheatum

    Apr 12, 2015

    Professor Chris Cheatum is a 2014-2015 recipient of a CLAS Collegiate Teaching Award.  More information can be found here, and congratulations to Professor Cheatum. 


Subscribe to Highlights